Approval for rural assistance under Special Needs Grants Programme

Under clauses 18.2 and 18.6 of the Special Needs Grants Programme¹, as established and approved on 18 December 1998 under section 124(1)(d) of the Social Security Act 1964 (**the programme**), and saved by clause 21 of Schedule 1 of the Social Security Act 2018, I give my approval for Part 6 of the programme to apply as follows:

Rural Assistance – Farmers

- 1 Farmers in the affected areas whose primary industries are directly affected by drought are eligible to be considered for financial assistance under Part 6 of the programme.
- 2 In relation to such farmers, Part 6 of the programme applies for the period beginning on 26 March 2020 and ending with the close of 25 November 2020, unless further extended by the Minister.
- 3 In this approval, **affected areas** means:
 - (a) The territories of the following local authorities:
 - (i) Bay of Plenty Regional Council:
 - (ii) Chatham Islands Council:
 - (iii) Christchurch City Council:
 - (iv) Gisborne District Council:
 - (v) Hawke's Bay Regional Council:
 - (vi) Hurunui District Council:
 - (vii) Kaikōura District Council:
 - (viii) Malborough District Council:
 - (ix) Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council:
 - (x) Nelson City Council:
 - (xi) Selwyn District Council:
 - (xii) Taranaki Regional Council:
 - (xiii) Tasman District Council:
 - (xiv) Waikato Regional Council:
 - (xv) Waimakariri District Council:
 - (xvi) Wellington Regional Council.
 - (b) The following ward areas of the Auckland Council:
 - (i) Albert-Eden-Puketāpapa Ward:
 - (ii) Franklin Ward:
 - (iii) Howick Ward:
 - (iv) Manukau Ward:
 - (v) Manurewa-Papakura Ward:
 - (vi) Maungakiekie- Tāmaki Ward:
 - (vii) Orākei Ward.

-

¹ New Zealand Gazette, 28 January 1999, page 202.

Dated at Wellington this	day of March 2020

Hon Carmel Sepuloni Minister for Social Development