

Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Student Allowances (Christchurch Mosques Attack) Amendment Regulations 2020

Portfolio Social Development

On 21 July 2020, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- **noted** that in March 2020, the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee agreed to:
 - 1.1 exempt Christchurch Response Visa holders and other residence visa holders who would have been eligible for a Christchurch Visa from the three-year residence stand-down period for eligibility to student loans and allowances from 1 June 2020;
 - 1.2 exclude financial gifts and donations made to people affected by the Christchurch Mosques Attack from personal, parental and partner income tests for student allowances from 1 June 2020;

[SWC-20-MIN-0013]

- noted that in April 2020, in light of the evolving situation around the COVID-19 pandemic, Cabinet agreed to delay implementation of the changes to eligibility settings applying to student loans and allowances to accommodate for the increased demand on the Ministry of Social Development's services [CAB-MIN-20-0164];
- noted that the Student Allowances (Christchurch Mosques Attack) Amendment Regulations 2020 give effect to the above decisions;
- **authorised** the submission to the Executive Council of Student Allowances (Christchurch Mosques Attack) Amendment Regulations 2020 [PCO 22796/4.0];
- 5 **noted** that:
 - 5.1 the Amendment Regulations come into force on 21 September 2020;
 - 5.2 the changes will apply to periods of study starting on or after 1 January 2021.

Charlotte Doyle Committee Secretary

Attendees: (see over)

IN CONFIDENCE

LEG-20-MIN-0106

Present:

Hon Chris Hipkins (Chair)

Hon Andrew Little

Hon Stuart Nash

Hon Iain Lees-Galloway

Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon Tracey Martin

Hon Aupito William Sio

Hon Poto Williams

Hon Julie Anne Genter

Hon Eugenie Sage

Michael Wood MP (Senior Government Whip)

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for LEG